Busy

For five months, his mouth sounded busy tones; whenever he’d call upon the muse that sewed his words in place, she didn’t seem to care enough to stay and chat. He whispered a how are you, and she answered then left. His transparent gloom surfaced inside his chest for he longed to kneel on a knee for her.

15 comments so far

  1. thommyg on

    I’m certainly glad you’ve resurfaced and hope all is well, my friend. This is another wonderful piece.

  2. noahthegreat on

    I’ll be fine. I have some inner lust for darkness, but I do have to fight it off.

  3. Mark on

    I think we all have an inner lust for darkness (like how you put that…) that we fight.

    I like your piece. Been there myself.

  4. Linda Jacobs on

    I hear ya!

    Love the way ou said this: his mouth sounded busy tones

  5. Fledgling Poet on

    I think she’s there with you more than you think…this was powerful. I’m glad my 3WW prompt today gave you some hope…I’m rooting for you. And I can certainly relate to that ‘inner lust for darkness’; I think all people who write poetry have some of that in them!

  6. Just Someone on

    That was short but powerful! You are a great writer… as others said, ‘inner lust for darkness’ is a interesting way to put it!

  7. Stan on

    If you don’t ask, you don’t get…only sometimes it’s just so hard to ask.

  8. camtodd1846 on

    Well done. How I wish the muse would stay and chat.

  9. Tumblewords on

    I think we all carry that dark shadow which needs to be pushed back time after time after time. Nice work!

  10. andy. on

    Maybe he didn’t want to hear what she had to say. Or perhaps, she was playing hard to get. But I love the idea of the narrator communicating with his muse.

  11. lissa on

    nice, I’m thinking it won’t do any good, the muse rarely does what you want…

  12. pjd on

    I love it when people use semicolons correctly.

    Sounds like five difficult months.

  13. gautami tripathy on

    My muse was dead for a few days..

    a day in a child’s life

  14. noahthegreat on

    I don’t always use them correctly, per say in the realm of grammar, but I always have a meaning for them being there. They’re underused.

  15. Leo on

    good use of the words… the summing up of the whole thing in the last sentence was nicely done…


Leave a Reply

